Jimmy Somerville releases online-only covers collection

With his various projects over the years, former Bronski Beat / Communards vocalist Jimmy Somerville has done some great cover versions (The Communards “”Don’t Leave Me This Way” is a personal favorite of mine.) So the fact that Somerville would eventually do a covers-only release comes as no surprise. But what is unexpected is that the resulting collection, “SUDDENLY LAST SUMMER,” was done acoustically and does not lean towards just disco hits. According to an interview on German fan site jimmysomerville.net, the album came together spontaneously while Somerville was performing a series of acoustic shows in Australia. With a studio and musicians at his disposal for 6 days, he picked out a bunch of songs from his iTunes library and ended up with the album.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. It’s Love
2. I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
3. Hangin’ On The Telephone
4. Black Is The Colour Of My True Love’s Hair
5. Hush
6. Sweet Unknown
7. Where Have All The Flowers Gone?
8. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
9. Was That All It Was
10. Walking After Midnight
11. People Are Strange
Motherless Child (Andrew Worboys Remix) (Bonus Track)

“Suddenly Last Summer” is available exclusively as a download (from most major only music stores.) Below is the video for “People Are Strange.” Be sure to also check out our 1999 interview with Jimmy .

Stay up to date

Be alerted when new interviews and other features get added to the site! Join our email list, or Like us on Facebook!